top of page
  • Writer's pictureDhriti Raju

SAT Prep Overload

As a rising junior in High School, SAT's are on my mind all the time. This one score could determine what college I get into, which then influences what job I get, leading to my entire life depending on this one score. While I can neither confirm nor deny whether your SAT score determines your whole life, I do know that it is important to getting accepted to your dream college.


As a student taking the SAT in the upcoming year, I get the inside scoop from other students on what they are doing to achieve their desired SAT score. Often times, parents ask/tell each other about their kid's SAT studying habits and they just aren't true. Each and every student preparing for the SAT is different, as should their studying habits.


In my opinion, there are two groups of students when studying for the SAT. The first group is very self-motivated and ready to work as hard as possible to get a high score. The second group... not so much. They also want to get a high score but need external motivation and a solid schedule and maybe a few snacks to study. Unfortunately, I'm part of Group 2 and need a solid study schedule.


For my Group 1s: Khan Academy and CollegeBoard released tests (don't use any other website's tests, just CollegeBoard because CollegeBoard is the only company with the budget to make accurate tests and they are the ones who write the actual SAT) will be your best friend. (Khan Academy is partnering with CollegeBoard)


For my fellow Group 2s: Write out a schedule that you will be able to follow and stick with it. Make sure it works around anything else you participate in such as sports practice, dance lessons, and work. Another option is to invest in SAT Prep live classes. These classes will be automatic motivators because you have no option but to attend.


There are lots of live online classes ranging from $400 to a whopping $2,000. The most popular prep company is Testmasters. testmasters.com . My favorite is Prep Expert. https://prepexpert.com/ . Prep Expert is a company started by Shaan Patel who was an average student that earned a perfect score on his SAT. Mark Cuban, billionaire and Shark Tank TV Star, invested in this company boosting Prep Expert from Las Vegas, Nevada to all around the nation. I took Prep Expert's 6 week SAT class and my score increased my 250+ points. I had live classes 2 times for 3 hours each, homework, and took full SATs each week. Although it was a lot work, I saw an improvement in my overall score and my essay score.


Thanks for reading! I will be writing more about my journey with the SAT in my upcoming blogs. Be sure to scroll to the bottom of my website to submit questions and blog suggestions if you have any! Please like and subscribe!


14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page