top of page
  • Writer's pictureDhriti Raju

A Teen's Take on TikTok

I'm sure you've heard of the world famous app TikTok. If you haven't, TikTok is a video sharing service owned by Chinese company ByteDance. It was previously called Musical.ly and is often compared with the now deleted app, Vine. There are now 800 million users world wide. Some of the biggest creators such as Charli D'Amelio, Loren Gray, and Addison Rae are becoming household names. The app became popular because of fun dances created to catchy songs and stayed popular due to ease of becoming popular and gaining followers.

Many people are using the app to show off their dance moves or to create their own original content. I, for example, post videos of me recreating dances. But what I enjoy most about the app is the countless hours of content that is presented to me on my For You Page. My favorite creators are @theswayla 's members, @caitlynisabella , @balancedanesthsia , @thereal_tati .

Recently, the US government announced that they are considering banning TikTok. (Other countries like India have already started banning Chinese apps like TikTok.) From the information I'm aware of, they could be doing this for two reasons. One reason being that TikTok is owned by a Chinese company and is taking its user's information. The other reason is that users of TikTok that are anti-Trump are spreading rumors about the president and tricking him by falsely spiking his number. They did this buy reserving tickets to his rally in Tulsa, OK and not going. Personally, I think both are valid reasons for TikTok to be banned. At the same time, I am hopeful the popular app doesn't get banned.

14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page