top of page
  • Writer's pictureDhriti Raju

Spring Break Trip to Minneapolis, MN

For spring break of 2021, my family and I went to Minneapolis, Minnesota to visit family. My brother was extremely excited and hoped for below freezing temperatures to experience all the wonders of cold weather. I wanted to go somewhere tropical like we normally go. In the previous years we have been to the Bahamas, Costa Rica, and Jamaica. After the winter storm here in Texas, I wanted to go somewhere tropical even more. Unfortunately that didn't happen, but I still had an amazing time in Minneapolis. When we went, the snow was just then slowly melting so we weren't able to experience the below freezing temps of MN.


The first place we went was Minnehaha Falls. This was the one place I actually knew about from looking up "Minneapolis places to go" on Google. The Falls were beautiful and we even saw some teenage boys retrieve their shoe from the freezing cold river flowing away from the falls.


In MN, they have the biggest mall in America called Mall of America. My parents and I went to look around the mall and see what the hype was really about. We only saw a small section of the whole mall, but we loved it. There were a lot of stores we normally see like Forever 21, LuluLemon, Apple, and more except these stores were much bigger and there were other stores we had never heard of. There was even an amazon store! My dad and I had a great time browsing at that shop. Though we didn't get anything at the Amazon store, we did get a beautiful black sparkly dress from Express for my mom and some Macaroons.

I also saw a really cute cotton candy store!


Another day, we did a long drive to Lake Superior and saw just how big this lake really was. We also learned some really interesting history. My brother even told a lady, talking about the history of Lake Superior, about some facts that she didn't even know of. Below, you can see two cute pictures of Lake Superior. The first being of my brother photobombing my picture and getting an up close look at the lake. The second picture is a creative photo I took at the lighthouse.



On our way to Lake Superior, we stopped by a famous restaurant and bakery called Tobies Restaurant and Bakery. Apparently, their donuts are world famous. I got a custard long john which tasted amazing! At the restaurant, we had some breakfast and my brother and I also had some hot chocolate. At first, only my brother ordered the hot cocoa. After he raved on and on about it, I decided to order it as he went for his second one. This hot cocoa was the best hot cocoa I've ever had. Also the whipped cream they added needs an honorable mention. This whipped cream was also the best I've ever had. It was made in house and was the lightest and sweetest whipped cream. I totally recommend going to Tobies and trying it! Here is a picture of my brother with the Hot Cocoa.



One night we decided to see some outdoor art structures. These structures were very bizarre and things you would never normally see at a place that showcases art. Some peculiar art pieces were a huge blue rooster, a spoon holding a cherry, and more. Here is a picture of me in front of the Cherry Spoon (im not sure what it's actually called but i named it the cherry spoon). Also in the background, you can see the blue rooster.

Throughout the trip, we saw lots of waterfalls...

Many of them were just starting to melt after the record breaking winter.


To get to the waterfall shown in the picture above, we had to hike down a snowy trail. I brought my black and white Nike running shoes which I thought would help me out in the snow since they have pretty good grip. Or so I thought. Throughout the entire hike, I kept slipping and needing to hold onto trees, branches, or even little plants to keep myself upright. Though I struggled throughout the hike, I really enjoyed it as I never experience this in Texas.


One day, we visited a small town near Minneapolis. I love the small town feeling. I love to explore all the antique stores and small businesses. We grabbed some warm coffee and hot cocoa as well as some biscotti and a brownie cookie to get through the cold weather. After recharging with our snacks, we went on walk and I discovered an adorable bakery. We got a half dozen cupcakes and they were all so good. None of them were too sweet, they were just right. And the decoration was on point!

The shop itself was also so adorably decorated. I'm obsessed with this place. if I ever visit MN again, I will visit this bakery again even though I forgot the name :(




Hey guys! I wrote this blog entry months ago and didn't finish or post it. I wanted to post it to get some content out since I haven't been writing and posting since summer break started as I have become very busy. Thanks for understanding. I hope you enjoyed!

- Dhriti <3

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page