top of page
  • Writer's pictureDhriti Raju

Book Review- The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

I have been looking for book recommendations everywhere. I am now on BookTok and Bookstagram. I went through probably hundreds of book recommendations on many book based social media pages. I saw many different books in different genres, about various things, etc. One book that just kept showing up, was this one. The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab. After seeing this book in numerous places, countless times, I finally decided to give it a chance.


During the terrible snow storm in Texas (blog about that coming soon), I explained the story's plot to my family as I was a little more than halfway done with the book. They were all hooked and excited to hear how it would turn out. As soon as we got power, I started reading and finished the book earlier today. Ever since I finished, I've been eager to write this review so more people can know about this amazing book.


As I said in my last book review blog post about the book All the Bright Places (check it out after reading this if you haven't already!), I am very impatient and I always look for a book that gets you hooked in the beginning. All the Bright Places had that hook. For The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, I unfortunately can't say the same. The book does start off slow for, in my opinion, about 150 pages. Those pages are vital in the story though. I must admit I wanted to put up the book and start another one but I had to see what the hype was about, so I kept reading.


After getting past those boring, background part of the beginning, it started to finally get interesting and it became one of those books that you just can't seem to put down.


I have always loved fiction/ fantasy based books as they fueled my imagination and made my daily day-dreaming much more eventful. This book fits in that fiction genre and I totally recommend it to any teen/ young adult or older that loves fantasy books to read this book.


I don't want to spoil anything, but this book was 9/10 just because it was sort of a long book ( I love long books but sometimes they can be too much) and there was a slow beginning. Other than that, this book is nothing like anything else I've ever read.

If you have read this book or will read it after seeing this, let me know! I'd love to hear you thoughts!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page