top of page
  • Writer's pictureDhriti Raju

Colorguard

Updated: Jan 19, 2021



I auditioned for colorguard without knowing what it was, without knowing the memories and friendships I'd get because of it. At the audition, I only knew one other person, sadly she didn't make the team. But, I did start talking to a girl at the audition who made the team. That girl became my best friend for the next 2 years. We were super alike, our birthdays were actually back-to-back. During practice we were always next to each other, helping each other with new skills and improving together.



On my first day of colorguard, I walked into the band hall wearing leggings and a long sleeve shirt. Little did I know, we would be practicing outside in the 100 degree weather. Everyone was super nice to me as I learned everything I was behind on while on vacation in India.

Our first marching show was called Watercolors, I was a dancer along with a whole bunch of my other friends. We had a great season and won many awards. The next season was our winterguard season. I was on the JV team, who's show was themed as Little Mermaid inspired Under the Sea. I was first a flag but then changed my spot to a dancer. We had a good season winning 2nd and 3rd but then we got our class bumped up and ended up with 8th at state. My sophomore marching season was a great season. I helped all the new members and I was a dancer with a great spot directly in the middle of the field for most of the show. We won many many awards including lots of 1st prizes. My sophomore winterguard season was my favorite season of all. I made the JV team but decided to drop down to the JVB team to focus on my grades a bit more. I was a rifle, dancer, and flag. We once again won lots of awards including 2nd place at State.


I made so many amazing memories at early morning and late night competitions and the hours and hours of practice. I also made lots of close friends because of the hours we'd spend together. I hope to always remain close with those friends and retain these amazing memories.

(all pictures including cover pics are mine)

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page