top of page
  • Writer's pictureDhriti Raju

Jamaica

Updated: Jan 19, 2021

My family and I along with an another family went to Jamaica for spring break in March 2020. We were planning to cancel the trip last minute because of the Coronavirus but decided to go on the trip anyway since the numbers were lower there than here. I loved the trip, its my favorite trip we've been on.



The first and last day of the trip was mostly spent taking pictures. Even walking around the huge hotel grounds snapping photos was super fun.

One of the days we went on a tour that took up the entire day. It took 6 hours to drive to the first spot. The first spot was the Bob Marley tour. Bob Marley is a huge reggae artist based in Jamaica. We visited his house and the rock he wrote songs on. Next we went to a local restaurant to have some authentic Jamaican cuisine. After our quick meal, we went to the super famous Dunn's Falls. Before arriving at Dunn's Falls, I expected us to just see waterfalls and bathe in the falls. But boy was I wrong. Instead we all held hands and climbed the falls in a line with the assistance of our tour guides. I had so much fun racing to the top with my brother and meeting new people while climbing.



Another activity we did is go to Luminous Lagoon. Luminous Lagoon is a huge lake that has little microorganisms that glow when disturbed. So, we went out in a boat to the middle of the lake and swam around. When we swam around the microorganisms will start the glow and it was beautiful. After we got back to the dock, we were able to see a live fire show which was really cool.


Last but definitely not least, my favorite activity we did. We did a dolphin encounter. We got to swim with the dolphins, dance with the dolphins, and feed the dolphins. I have been wanting to do this for years so I was super excited and had a blast! There were also many other animals in the dolphin encounter place including stingrays, camels, and ostriches. I only saw the ostriches since I've seen the other animals before many times. I was able to feed the ostrich and take selfies with it. ( Selfies are on my instagram @dhritiraju ).




We also spent an entire day hanging out in our hotel. The entire complex was ginormous and had things to do at any time of day. We went to all different types of restaurants such as Indian, Mexican, traditional Jamaican, and more. There was even fresh coconuts nuts upon order to drink fresh coconut juice.




My brother and I talked about Jamaica in our podcast so if you want more details, both of our thoughts, and more, go listen to Raju Radio. Raju Radio is available on most podcast streaming services like Spotify and Google Podcasts. Coming to Apple Podcasts soon!! Follow our instagram @rajuradiopodcast

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page